Frightened by Christians

Padresteve Has it right. We should question not only our faith (Go ahead God doesn’t mind a bit) But all those who quote a verse of scripture with no thought of what it means or what is behind it.

Padre Steve's World...Musings of a Progressive Realist in Wonderland

10151918_10152444030142059_7871957421917905974_n

“I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” Mahatma Gandhi

I expect that this article might make some people uncomfortable but it is something that I need to write.

I am a Christian. I am a Priest and I am a Navy Chaplain. But for the most part I am afraid of Christians. There are many reasons for this. Some are more general in the way I see Christians treat others; their own wounded as well as non-believers, the political machinations of pastors and “Christian” special interest groups masquerading as ministries.

But most of why I am afraid is because what I have experienced at the hand of many Christians, some of whom I had counted as friends many of whom are pastors, priests or chaplains. To experience rejection or being shamed by people that you thought were friends that you…

View original post 1,071 more words

Leave a Reply

