Parallels between Tea Party Ideology and the Ante-Bellum South

Sometimes they say the truth hurts, and other times it just needs to be said.

Padre Steve's World...Musings of a Progressive Realist in Wonderland

 

I read a lot of political commentary and as a historian as well as a theologian I try to carefully examine mass movements such as the modern Tea Party Movement from a historical, theological and moral point of view. To do this as dispassionately as I can I look to history and attempt to find parallels to other movements and ideologies in the country concerned. For example if I am examining a movement in France, I look to French history for precedent, the same for any other country or region.

In regard to the Tea Party movement I have watched it since its inception in the fall of 2008 not long after I returned from Iraq. At the time I saw it as a protest against the massive failure of the American economy during the housing and stock market collapse involving the big banks and investment firms on Wall…

View original post 8,047 more words

Leave a Reply

